Theft 50-500 in Texas
A person commits theft in Texas if the person “unlawfully appropriates property with intent to deprive the owner of property. If the amount of the property taken is between 50 and 500 dollars the charge will be a Class B misdemeanor in Texas. If the dollar amount is less than 50 dollars the charge will generally be a Class C misdemeanor with a few exceptions. The punishment range for a Class B misdemeanor in Texas is a fine not to exceed $2,000 and jail time not to exceed 180 days.
Being arrested for theft in Texas can be a very scary time for both you and your family. Contact Miller Versace Attorneys at Law if you or someone you know has been arrested for this charge. Due to it being a class B misdemeanor they are looking at a County Level charge. Miller Versace handles theft cases in Tarrant county and all surrounding DFW counties. Contact us today at 817-953-0929